Our Story

How it all started...

St. John's has been a part of the Georgetown Community for over 140 years.

We started as a group of Swedish immigrants who joined together in their homes to study, worship and pray and built our first church building in 1882.  At that time, we were known as the Swedish Methodist Episcopal Brushy Church (Svenska Metodistkyrkan at Brushy).

The original church stood at the intersection of Westinghouse Road and FM 1460.  Our church cemetery is still at this location.

In 1906 we moved to town, to our present home at 311 E. University Avenue, and in 1938 we changed our name to St. John's Methodist Church.

In 1968, when the Methodist Church joined with the Evangelical United Brethren Church, St. John's became St. John's United Methodist Church.

In 2023, St. John's United Methodist Church split from the United Methodist Church and became a part of the Global Methodist Church, renaming themselves St. John's Methodist Church.

Come join us and share in our rich history and heritage of celebrating God's love.

Expanding the vision...

St. John's continues to be an active partner in the community by assisting those who need help, whether that is through financial help, mental or emotional help, or spiritual help.

As we partner with organizations like Helping Hands, The Caring Place, or The Locker to help individuals and families, the young and the old, we look to be the Light of Christ in a world that needs light.

We will continue to be the hands and feet of Christ.

Be a part of our story...

Join us every Sunday as we gather to worship together a 8:30 AM and 11:00 AM.